一个与开放移动联盟的对话

by OMA | Thursday, April 18, 2013

Enterprise Mobile Hub, Joanie Wexler, 社区经理,2013年4月17日

哪些现有移动标准能支持网络和设备平台间的无缝切换?

在每周二下午两点(东部时间)于Enterprise Mobile Hub进行的Twitter讨论中时常会提及移动性技术标准。大多数讨论参与人员认为移动应用(如统一通信与协作工具(UCC))互操作问题很大程度源于标准的缺失。
其实,业界已有移动性相关标准,只不过少人听闻。最近与开放移动联盟(OMA)的技术大会委员会主席及意大利电信无线工程师Francesco Vadalà做了一番谈话,期望有所启发。 OMA是一个由移动通信企业组成的联盟,至今已运营有十年,主要从事移动设备和网络间互操作标准规范的制定。OMA与第三代合作伙伴关系项目(3GPP)等其他国际标准组织合作密切。
以下摘自与Francesco Vadalà的谈话*:
EMH:除了Wi-Fi和3G/4G网络的标准外,其他的移动性标准知之甚少。OMA主要从事哪类标准的研究呢?
VADALÀ:我们主要为移动网络运营商提供‘业务引擎’和标准,使运营商们可在任意底层无线网络上部署业务。
EMH:你能举几个与企业相关的例子吗?
VADALÀ:首先,我们有一个设备管理(DM)专门工作组,一直致力于移动通信业界流行框架的研发工作。我们针对应用的一个部分,即‘引擎’,编写规范标准。此框架用于定义服务端、客户端以及二者之间所采用的协议。移动运营商一般都会在其网络上部署DM服务器,为企业提供设备管理云服务。
EMH:企业正采用一个或多个软件解决方案建设其MDM网络。此举对MDM网络建设有什么影响?
VADALÀ:标准的价值在于你采用的解决方案不再是封闭的,而且你可以借助移动运营商提供MDM业务。对于多操作系统环境,一个标准的DM服务器可用于管理多个设备。客户端与服务器之间采用标准的协议,设备更换更方便、花费更少。
EMH:是否还有其他可能使企业受益的活动?
VADALÀ:我们通过指定网络API,从而以开放和可编程的方式向第三方公开移动网络的特性和功能,且不依赖开发平台。
EMH:具体有哪些特性呢?
VADALÀ:主要是定位、支付以及消息通讯。
EMH:其中消息通讯包括UCC吗?
VADALÀ:OMA曾做过富通信(RCS)业务的标准化工作。此业务面向消费者却可作为企业通信解决方案。【编者按:RCS为GSM协会全球首创,用于部署支持聊天、呈现、图片发送和视频共享等特性的跨运营商网络业务。
EMH:OMA当前的新工作重点有哪些呢?
VADALÀ:我们正在开发基于HTTP 2.0的DM新版本以及轻量级协议(机器间)。同时定位准确度更高和支持Wi-Fi接入的LTE定位扩展协议也在研发当中。另外,我们还在研究图片识别功能,即如果你用手机拍照,照片可被发往图片数据库进行比对,从而可找到你当前所处的位置。
*考虑到篇幅和意思准确性,对话内容做过少量修饰。

A Conversation with the Open Mobile Alliance

by OMA | Thursday, April 18, 2013

Enterprise Mobile Hub, Joanie Wexler, Community Manager, April 17, 2013

What mobile standards exist to make user experiences seamless across networks and device platforms?

The subject of technical mobility standards usually creeps into the Twitter chats that we host at the Enterprise Mobile Hub each Tuesday at 2 p.m. ET. Most participants cite a paucity of standards as a major source of interoperability problems among mobile applications, such as unified communications and collaboration (UCC) tools.

There actually are technical standards that relate to mobility, but the industry is pretty quiet about them. I spoke recently to Francesco Vadalà, chair of the Technical Plenary Committee of the Open Mobile Alliance (OMA) and a wireless engineer at Telecom Italia, to find out what’s up. The OMA is a 10-year-old association of mobile ecosystem companies that work on standard specifications to help enable mobile device-to-network interoperability. The OMA works closely with the worldwide 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) among other standards groups.

Here’s an excerpt from our conversation*:

EMH: We don’t hear about many mobility standards, other than network specifications for Wi-Fi and 3G/4G networks. What kinds of standards does the OMA work on?

VADALÀ: We produce ‘service enablers,’ specifications primarily for mobile network operators. These allow operators to build services that can run across any underlying wireless network.

EMH: Can you give a couple examples that might be relevant to enterprises?

VADALÀ: First, we have a dedicated working group on device management [DM], which has been working on a framework widely deployed across the mobile industry. We write a spec for a piece of an application; the ‘enabler.’ The framework specifies the server side, the client side and the protocol in between….[Mobile] operators usually have a DM server in the network and might offer device management cloud services to enterprises.

EMH: How could this work impact the MDM installations that enterprises are building on their own using one or more software solutions?

VADALÀ:  The value of the standard is that you are not using a closed solution and that you can rely on mobile operators to provide MDM services. For multi-OS [environments], a standard DM server is ready to work with multiple devices. The client-to-server protocol is standard, so you can easily and inexpensively change suppliers.

EMH: Other activities that might benefit enterprises?

VADALÀ: We specify network APIs, which expose features and functionalities in mobile networks to third parties in an open and programmable way, independent of development platform.

EMH: What kinds of features?

VADALÀ: Location, payment and messaging come to mind.

EMH: Does ‘messaging’ include UCC?

VADALÀ: OMA did the spec work for Rich Communications Service (RCS), which is oriented toward consumers but usable to build an enterprise solution. [Editor’s note: RCS is a global initiative created by the GSM Association to deploy inter-operator services that support chat, presence, image transfer and video sharing].

EMH: What are some new things the OMA is working on?

VADALÀ: We are working on a new DM version based on HTTP 2.0, as well as a lightweight [machine-to-machine] protocol. We are also working on an extension to the LTE Positioning Protocol to add more precise localization and to include Wi-Fi access. And we’re working on image recognition, whereby if you take a picture with your phone camera, a comparison to a database of images can help identify where you are.

* Conversation has been edited slightly for length and clarity.