内容分发

OMA内容分发工作组
(OMA CD WG)

Digital Rights Management Technology

李克鹏
OMA内容分发工作组主席

概述

OMA内容分发(CD)工作组负责内容分发相关技术的业务层标准化。
OMA内容分发工作组旨在定义基本的分发机制、双向交换机制和关键内容格式处理,包括语义、用户代理、用户行为和用户编程接口。
OMA内容分发工作组制定和维护OMA标准,并作为OMA环境下内容分发技术专家组。

为移动行业带来价值

OMA内容分发工作组提供一系列广泛的能力,支持通过OMA环境中的点到点和广播承载满足内容分发要求。 这些要求包括:

• 支持各种内容分发模式所需的基本分发机制,包括如何使用OMA环境中的各种因素(如位置和呈现)进行内容分发控制。
• 支持各种内容交换模式所需的双向分发机制,包括如何把客户端设备上的内容和/或信息上载到服务器上。这些内容和/或信息包括媒体信息、社交活动、位置信息和设备能力等。
• 支持关键内容格式的处理,包括语义、用户代理、用户行为和用户编程接口。为了能在移动手持设备(包括手机、寻呼机和掌上电脑)上创建和使用数据业务,必须支持这些内容格式、内容渲染和浏览器用户代理。

OMA内容分发工作组的活跃成员

OMA内容分发工作组的活跃成员包括 华为、中国电信、中兴通讯、意大利电信、AT&T、金雅拓、SKT、T-Mobile、富士通、宏达电子、中国联通、日本NTT DoCoMo电信、LGE和日本电气。

OMA内容分发工作组的子工作组

OMA内容分发工作组下辖以下子工作组: 移动条形码子工作组、开放连接管理器API子工作组和融合个人网络业务子工作组。
OMA内容分发工作组覆盖以下工作领域: 广播、游戏业务、移动增强现实、PUSH业务、富通信中心、社交网络Web、“永久在线”基础设施、统一虚拟体验、Web运行时间API和数字权限管理。

OMA内容分发工作组在2002至2012年间的主要成就

OMA内容分发工作组过去十年里成功制定的部分标准如下:

OMA移动广告1.0(OMA MOBAD)
移动广告(MobAd)引擎定义了一个框架以满足下列广告需求:

• 广告个性化: 移动广告业务的一个关键性能指标是广告个性化的程度。 目标用户越具体,广告中产品的接受度就越高。 该工作项目将开发技术以促进移动广告的个性化和针对性。 已经确认可以帮助实现广告个性化的基础技术包括:
广告元数据及其描述和用途;
增加用户的广告喜好到用户信息中及其用途;
广告格式,旨在提高用户体验和互操作性。

• 广告互动: 自从首批采用新技术(如互联网广告)的广告业务推出以来,出现了不同的定价模型。 首个创新定价模型是每点击成本(Cost Per Click,CPC)。根据此定价模型,品牌广告费取决于用户点击该品牌广告的次数(即用户访问该品牌网站的次数)。 此移动广告模型仍在使用,而新模型正不断涌现。

• 广告指标辅助技术: 广告宣传最重要的环节之一是评估广告的影响力和用户行为。 这些指标帮助广告商计算广告受众和目标受众的吻合度。 常用指标包括受众范围和广告频度。 收集移动广告宣传范围和受众反应相关的数据并在大型群体/受众中将这些数据进行关联,能够为移动广告价值链提供更多反馈信息。 服务提供商可以提供更好的服务和额外利润,或者可以考虑收取认证统计报告费用,或者通过这些数据吸引更多广告商。 该工作项目将开发相关技术以支持以下功能:
必要广告指标的报告;
指标记录和收集;
群组/受众统计数据处理。

OMA PUSH
OMA PUSH允许PUSH业务发起者和应用服务器向用户设备发起与业务相关的事务和内容分发。 OMA PUSH已经发布了多个版本,包括最初支持WAP1承载的WAP Push 1.x以及新增支持WAP2(HTTP)和SIP承载的WAP Push 2.0至OMA Push 2.2版本。 下图描述了OMA PUSH业务环境和两种PUSH业务部署方式。
• 作为PUSH业务发起者,服务/内容提供商要求通过PUSH代理网关(PPG)向用户发起基于OMA PUSH的内容分发。
• 应用服务器直接使用OMA PUSH方式向用户分发内容。

移动广播服务

移动广播业务引擎1.X面向那些同时适用于多数广播业务的、能够以独立承载方式实现的功能区域,其功能区域(或简称“功能”)包括: 业务导航、文件分发、流分发、业务保护、内容保护、业务交互、业务提供、终端提供和通知功能。该引擎依赖的潜在技术(如业务和内容保护)基于开放的标准,或将成为开放的标准的一部分;无需专有部分或延伸。因此,本文所描述的功能完全符合开放移动联盟的“开放”特征。

OMA移动广播业务引擎
移动广播业务引擎1.X面向那些同时适用于多数广播业务的、承载无关的功能区域。 这些功能区域(或简称为“功能”) 包括业务导航、文件分发、流分发、业务保护、内容保护、业务交互、业务提供、终端提供和通知功能。 该引擎依赖的建议技术(如业务和内容保护)基于开放的标准,或将融合到开放的标准作为其一部分,无需任何专有部分或扩展。 因此,本文所描述的功能完全符合开放移动联盟的“开放性”原则。

OMA数字权限管理
OMA数字权限管理(DRM)受控实现数字内容的分发和使用。 根据内容所有人所定义的使用权限,内容被分发到授权设备上使用。 OMA数字权限管理通过为内容格式、协议和权限表达语言提供合适的标准从而满足系统的技术需求。

OMA移动搜索框架
移动搜索框架引擎定义了一个开放的框架,旨在为移动搜索业务提供不同的能力。 该引擎提供的能力包括但不限于搜索引擎整合、引擎选择和搜索结果个性化。 搜索引擎并不划入移动搜索框架下,但部分需求需要将搜索引擎以标准的方式整合到移动搜索框架引擎中。

OMA社交网络WEB(OMA SNEW 1.0)引擎
SNeW引擎旨在及时实现SNEW客户端和服务器的大规模部署和互操作,进而保证社交网络的联合,使不同SN的用户可以相互通讯和交换数据。 本文还特别描述了SNeW特有的一系列功能子集。该子集代表了OMA的一项核心标准。

OMA移动增强现实(OMA MOBAR)
OMA移动增强现实(OMA MobAR)引擎旨在打造一个整体框架。通过在此框架上应用AR内容传输、过滤和个性化新机制可为用户提供支持AR内容跨平台交换和大范围接入的移动AR业务。 OMA MobAR采用C/S架构。MobAR客户端从MobAR服务器上提取业务信息和内容,从而使用户可以通过移动设备享受到更逼真的视觉体验。

2013年及以后的计划

OMA内容分发工作组将继续开发新引擎满足市场需求。 以下引擎正在开发中,预计于2013年或以后发布:
OMA富通信中心(RCC)引擎
RCC引擎旨在借助通信和互联网手段实现问题的发布和解决。
RCC引擎通过广泛部署的通信基础设施提供丰富的业务能力,尤其是面向Web2.0的业务能力和基于移动代理的业务能力。 RCC引擎旨在以节约的方式按需提供富通信中心业务能力。
RCC引擎部署的前提是移动网络或其他接入网络能够在移动代理和RCC服务器之前建立数据承载连接。
RCC引擎尽可能使用现有的标准。 若有需要,RCC应该能够通过新特性的逐步融合得到扩展和丰富,以便这些特性能够使用同一个机制。
OMA“永久在线”基础设施(AOI)
OMA“永久在线”基础设施(AOI)通过在不同的应用客户端和服务器之间提供统一的连接机制以使应用程序保持在线状态,同时减少连接的数量。 此外,AOI可基于连接优先级和空闲带宽使用率动态地优化带宽使用。

结束语

OMA内容分发工作组将继续引领内容分发的业务引擎的开发,并欢迎各界人士参与,共同达成这个目标。

Content Delivery

OMA Content Delivery Working Group
(OMA CD WG)

Bryan Sullivan

Bryan Sullivan

OMA CD WG Chair

Overview

The OMA Content Delivery Working Group (CD) is responsible for service layer standardization of content delivery related technologies.

CD WG is chartered to define the basic delivery mechanisms, bi-directional exchange mechanisms, and the processing of key content formats, including the semantics and such user agents, behavior and programming interfaces.

The purpose of the CD WG is to write and maintain OMA specifications and serve as an OMA technical expert group in matters related to content delivery in an OMA environment.

Bringing Value to the Mobile Industry

CD WG provides a broad range of capabilities, which address requirements of content delivery via point-to-point and broadcast bearers in an OMA environment. Those requirements include:

  • the basic delivery mechanisms necessary to support various content delivery paradigms, including how aspects of the OMA environment such as location and presence are used to control content delivery,
  • the bi-directional exchange mechanisms necessary to support various content exchange paradigms, including how to upload content and/or information from the client device to the server, for example, media, social activity, location, device capability, etc,
  • the processing of key content formats, including the semantics and such user agents, behavior and programming interfaces, as is necessary to use such content formats, content rendering and the browser user agent, with the intention of enabling the creation and use of data services on mobile hand held devices, including mobile telephones, pagers and PDAs.

Active OMA CD WG Members

OMA members active in the CD WG include: Huawei, China Telecom, ZTE, Telecom Italia, AT&T, Gemalto, SKT, T-Mobile, Fujitsu, HTC, China Unicom, NTT DoCoMo, LGE, and NEC.

Sub-groups Within The Working Group

CD WG includes the following Sub Working Groups: Mobile Codes, Open Connection Manager API, Generic Open Terminal API (GotAPI) and Converged Personal Network Service.

CD WG includes the following Work Areas: Broadcast, Game Service, Mobile Augmented Reality, Push, Rich Communication Centre, Social Network Web, Always Online Infrastructure, Unified Virtual Experience, Web Runtime API and Digital Rights Management.

CD WG Highlighted Achievements 2002-2015

The following enablers represent some of the successful specifications delivered by CD WG over the last 10 years.

OMA Generic Open Terminal Framework (OMA GotAPI)

GotAPI provides a total secure framework for applications to access external devices and internal apps through device Web APIs using Web technologies.  This allows developers to create applications compatible with a variety of devices, which until now have required dedicated native code development efforts. With GotAPI, applications running in browsers can access external devices consistently across any OS, giving developers the opportunity to help create a new ecosystem of interoperable devices and applications. This open architecture allows developers to write less complex applications for smart devices while expanding market reach. Plug-Ins implement device Web APIs exposing services from external devices to applications through GotAPI. Read more>>

OMA Mobile Advertising 1.0 (OMA MobAd)

The MobAd Enabler defines a framework that facilitates the following advertising needs:

  • Personalization of Advertisements: One of the key performance indicators for the Mobile Advertising services is the degree of the advertisement’s personalization. The more targeted the advertisements are to a particular user, greater acceptance will be achieved. This work item will specify technologies to facilitate personalized targeting of Mobile Advertisements. Some already identified foundations to enable personalization of advertisements include:

Advertising metadata, its description and its usage,
Enhancement of user profiles with advertising preferences and its usage,
Advertising formats in order to obtain a good user experience and interoperability.

  • Interactivity of Advertisements: Since the first advertising services started using new technologies for delivery of advertisements (i.e. Internet), different pricing models have been defined. The first innovative one was the CPC (Cost per Click), in which the cost of the advertisement for a brand depends on the number of times the user clicks to an ad (e.g. goes to the brand site). While this model is still valid for Mobile Advertisement, new models have continued to emerge.
  • Technology to Facilitate Advertising Metrics: One of the most important parts of an advertising campaign is the metering of the advertisement’s impact and user behaviour. Using these metrics, the advertisers are able to verify the extent to which an advertisement has been delivered to the desired target audiences. Audience reach and frequency of exposure are among the commonly used metrics. Collecting data related to mobile advertisements reach and reaction to them, and correlating such data across large groups/audiences, can provide additional feedback to the Mobile Advertisement value chain. The service providers may offer a better service and additional revenue, or may consider charging for a certified statistics report, or use them as a tool to attract more advertisers. This work item will specify technologies to technically enable and facilitate:

Reporting of the needed advertising metrics,
Recording and collection of these metrics,
Group/audience statistics handling.

OMA Push

OMA Push allows Push Initiators and Application Servers to initiate service-related transactions and content delivery to user devices. OMA Push has evolved over several releases, beginning with WAP Push 1.x releases, which supported the WAP1 bearers, and releases from WAP Push 2.0 up to OMA Push 2.2, which extended support to WAP2 (HTTP) and SIP bearers. The service environment enabled by OMA Push is illustrated in the figure below, which shows the two main options for Push service deployment:

  • A service/content provider, acting as Push Initiator, requests the OMA Push-based delivery of content to a user through a Push Proxy Gateway (PPG)
  • An Application Server directly uses OMA Push to deliver content to a user.

OMA Mobile Broadcast Services

The Mobile Broadcast Services Enabler 1.X addresses functional areas generic enough to be common to many Broadcast Services and which can be defined and implemented in a bearer-independent way. These functional areas (or for short: ‘functions’) are: Service Guide, File Distribution, Stream Distribution, Service Protection, Content Protection, Service Interaction, Service Provisioning, Terminal Provisioning and Notification. Proposed technologies upon which this enabler is specified (e.g. for Service and Content Protection) are based on open standards, or will become part of an open standard; no proprietary parts or extensions are required. Thus, the functions described in this document fully comply with the ‘Open’ of the Open Mobile Alliance initiative.

OMA Digital Rights Management

OMA “Digital Rights Management” (DRM) enables the distribution and consumption of digital content in a controlled manner. The content is distributed and consumed on authenticated devices per the usage rights expressed by the content owners. OMA DRM work addresses the various technical aspects of this system by providing appropriate specifications for content formats, protocols, and a rights expression language.

OMA Mobile Search Framework

The Mobile Search Framework Enabler release defines an open framework providing different capabilities to support mobile search service. The capabilities of this enabler include (not limited to), search engine integration, selection, and results personalization. Search engines are not in the scope of this enabler; nevertheless, some requirements are identified for search engines to be integrated with the Mobile Search Framework Enabler in a standard way.

OMA Social Network Web (OMA SNeW 1.0)

The SNeW Enabler aims at allowing large-scale deployments and interoperability of SNEW Clients and SNEW Servers in a timely manner, further guaranteeing social network federation so that users can easily communicate with users on other SNs and migrate their data. In particular, this document identifies a coherent subset of functionalities specific to SNeW representing a core specification.

OMA Mobile Augmented Reality (OMA MobAR)

The OMA Mobile Augmented Reality (OMA MobAR) aims at providing an overall framework to enable mobile AR services that can assure cross-platform exchange of AR Content and universal access to AR Content by providing new mechanisms for transport, filtering and personalization of AR Contents. OMA MobAR is built over a client-server model, with the MobAR Client receiving the MobAR Server information, and content that can “augment” the scene the user is looking at through his/her mobile device.

Future Plans for 2013 and Beyond

OMA CD WG will continue to develop new Enablers to address market requirements. The following Enablers are under development and are expected to be delivered in 2013 and beyond:

OMA Rich Communication Centre (RCC)

Rich Communication Centre (RCC) Enabler aims to bridge the problem originator and solver with telecommunication approach and Internet approach.

Rich Communication Centre (RCC) Enabler employs existing widely deployed communication infrastructure to provide rich service capabilities, especially Web2.0-oriented service capabilities and mobile agent-based service capabilities. Moreover, RCC is also intended to provide rich communication center service capability in a cost-effective and on-demand manner.

RCC assumes that the mobile network or other access network is capable of establishing a data bearer connection between the mobile agent and RCC server.

RCC utilizes existing standards where available and possible. RCC should also be extensible and be able to be enriched through the progressive incorporation of additional features as the need arises so that they utilize the same mechanism.

OMA Always Online Infrastructure (AOI)

The AOI keeps applications online while dramatically reduces the number of connections needed by providing a unified connection mechanism between different application clients and servers. Furthermore, the AOI could dynamically optimize the use of bandwidth based on connection priority and vacant bandwidth utilization.

Final Words

The OMA CD Working Group will continue to be a leader in the creation of many service enablers focused on content delivery and welcomes participation from everyone to achieve this success.