互操作性

OMA互操作性工作组
(OMA IOP WG)

Interoperability Testing and Standards
Jeff Cooke

OMA互操作性工作组主席

概述

        OMA互操作性工作组是OMA始创的横向工作组之一。 自2002年成立以来,OMA互操作性工作组制定了高质量的测试标准,帮助其成员进行测试,并在条件合适时为候选引擎版本的验证制定TTCN测试代码。
        OMA的IOP计划为业界首创,旨在提供互操作性方面的专业知识、测试资料和工具。 OMA互操作性工作组骄傲地宣布其已获数家设备认证机构的正式认证。这些机构包括全球认证论坛(GCF)和个人通讯服务型号认证评估委员会(PTCRB),已认证了全球范围内消费者使用的数千台手机。 互操作性工作组的活跃成员包括一线移动服务提供商、全球知名设备商和一流测试工具提供商。互操作性工作组的很多成员同时也是其他业界联盟的成员,如GSM协会。他们拥有广泛的知识体系和对相关行业焦点的深刻理解,并懂得利用他们的专业知识快速制定核心测试标准。
         在前任主席Martin Niekus(ALU)细心不懈的领导下,互操作性工作组成功完成了IOP计划的转变以满足不断变化的市场需求。 Martin在“开发套件”概念成型的过程中发挥了重要作用,并与OMA及业界同行广泛合作,帮助各组织备战当前和未来的全球互操作性挑战。
         互操作性工作组的现任主席为Jeffrey Cooke(任职于爱立信),其IOP-MEC子工作组的主席为Markus Hanhisalo(任职于诺基亚),IOP-BRO子工作组的主席为Henrique Costa(任职于NEC),IOP-TTCN子工作组的主席为Michael Siggelkow(任职于罗德史瓦兹)。

为移动行业带来价值

         随着社会日益发展和沟通复杂化,需要一种行之有效的互操作设计为消费者提供可靠安全的移动通信服务。 为了实现这个根本目标并支持已有引擎的功能无缝升级,要求业务提供商和设备商对互操作性工作组提出的质量保证流程进行投资。 当OMA工作组要求对引擎进行验证时,互操作性工作组制定测试标准并告知OMA技术工作组该引擎与标准不一致的地方。
         互操作性工作组与OMA技术工作组和外部机构(如GSMA、GCF和PTCRB)进行紧密合作,倡导公开合作对话,支持行业测试整合工作,从而节省成本和加快标准的推出。
         互操作性工作组深刻意识到需要为测试人员实施一个低成本和低门槛的入口计划。 考虑到这一点,互操作性工作组对其流程和测试地点进行了升级。 只需签一份简单而有效的保密协议,厂商即可毫无顾虑地进行测试,而测试人员可通过基于Web的“按需测试”和“测试库”进行测试,免于支付昂贵的旅费。 测试人员可使用一个自动问题报告工具亮显测试过程中发现的问题,也可以在一个产品清单网页上推广他们的成功经验。
         互操作性工作组和版本规划与管理委员会(REL)已经意识到市场需要更丰富广泛的组合服务,如GSMA富通信套件,并为认证机构提供可靠的、业界认可的符合性测试标准。 互操作性工作组和版本规划与管理委员会在OMA内部推广使用一种新型引擎——测试引擎,现在也称为“部署套件引擎”。 该创新帮助OMA通过一个OMA部署套件引擎直接引用外部标准(作为对OMA引擎的补充),并将所选的特性整合到OMA测试标准中。 通过OMA、GSMA和GCF的跨界合作,完成了“业务创建到部署和测试的环回”,并且促进广泛的业界合作。

OMA互操作性工作组的活跃成员

        OMA互操作性工作组的活跃成员包括 AT&T、爱立信、金雅拓、Interop Technologies、NEC、诺基亚、Research in Motion、罗德史瓦兹、三星、Spirent、意大利电信、西班牙电信和沃达丰。

OMA互操作性工作组的子工作组

        互操作性工作组的现任主席为Jeffrey Cooke(爱立信),下辖以下子工作组: 消息通讯和内容(IOP-MEC)子工作组,主席为Markus Hanhisalo(任职于诺基亚);与浏览相关的引擎(IOP-BRO)子工作组,主席为Henrique Costa(任职于NEC);TTTCN测试工具开发(IOP-TTCN)子工作组,主席为Michael Siggelkow(任职于罗德史瓦兹)。

OMA互操作性工作组在2002至2012年间的主要成就

互操作性工作组在过去十年间制定了许多测试标准,并举办和参加了多个行业测试活动。 这些活动主要包括:
o MMS现场展示 3GSM世界,戛纳
o 20场OMA Test Fests,覆盖MMS、IMPS、DM、Browsing、PoC和BCAST等引擎
o 自开始测试OMA引擎以来,携手OMA对数千台设备进行了认证(测试)。
o 这些引擎包括:
o MMS:2486台设备
o Browsing:883台设备
o SUPL 1.0:801台设备
o DM:444 台设备
o FUMO:84台设备
o SCOMO:11台设备
o GCF于2011年对488台不同的设备进行了以下OMA引擎的认证测试:
o MMS:274 台设备
o Browsing:180台设备
o SUPL 1.0:159台设备
o DM:49 台设备
o FUMO:53台设备
o SCOMO:13台设备
o GCF的计划包含以下引擎:
o SCWS(仅供互操作性测试)
o SUPL 2.0(始于2013年1月)
o RCS-e (始于2013年上半年)
o POC和BCAST

2013年及以后的计划

        目前互操作性工作组正紧锣密鼓进行RCS-e部署套件的升级工作。预计此次的成功经验将体现在RCS5版本。 互操作性工作组致力于跨界合作,抓住一切机会扩大其影响力,从而降低行业开发重复度和更好地服务其成员。 我们的TTCN测试套件正不断扩展,现在可供OMA成员使用。 在测试过程中我们富有经验的技术支持团队随时为测试人员提供全力支持。
互操作性工作组正计划在OMA内部实施HTML5的升级。随着OMA对部署套件引擎的大力推广和支持,我们随时迎接下一代OMA引擎的到来。

OMA Interoperability Working Group

Markus Hanhisalo


The OMA IOP WG is one of the founding horizontal working groups within OMA. Since the inception of this group in 2002, the IOP WG has been producing high quality test specifications, facilitating testing for its members and, in some cases, producing TTCN test code for the validation of Candidate Enabler releases.

The OMA IOP Program is unique in the industry as a provider of this expertise, test documentation and artifacts. The group is proud to be formally recognized by several equipment certification bodies, such as the GCF (Global Certification Forum) and the PTCRB, whose programs have certified thousands of mobile handsets founds in the hands of consumers today on a truly global scale. The active and contributing members of the IOP groups are comprised of tier one mobile service providers, globally recognized equipment vendors and best of class test tool providers. These members are often members of other external consortia, such as the GSMA, and bring with them a vast body of knowledge and awareness of the most relevant industry focal points, applying this expertise to the rapid production of core test specifications.

Under the solid and careful leadership of its past Chair Martin Niekus (ALU), the group has been successful in transitioning its IOP program to answer the needs of an evolving market. Martin has been instrumental in establishing the concept of Deployment Suites and has worked generously with his colleagues throughout the organization and industry to improve the organizations readiness to embrace the current and future challenges facing global interoperability.

The IOP WG is currently Chaired by Markus Hanhisalo (Microsoft), with Henrique Costa (NEC) and Michael Siggelkow (Rohde & Schwarz), and with sub-working groups IOP-MEC chaired by Markus Hanhisalo (Microsoft), IOP-BRO Henrique Costa (NEC) and IOP-TTCN chaired by Michael Siggelkow (Rohde & Schwarz).

Bringing Value to the Mobile Industry

In an increasingly expanding and in a complexly connected society, the need for true and proven interoperability is essential to provide consumers with reliable and secure mobile services. In order to accomplish that fundamental goal and the promise of seamless functionality of deployed enablers, there must be service providers and equipment vendors willing to invest in the quality assurance step seen in the IOP WG. When an OMA WG requests to have an enabler validated, the IOP WG generates test specifications and reports any inconsistencies in the specifications back to the OMA Technical Working Groups.

The IOP WG works closely within OMA technical working groups as well as external bodies, such as the GSMA, GCF and PTCRB, to promote an open dialog of cooperation, and supports the defragmentation of test efforts across the industry in an effort to reduce cost and delays.

The IOP WG membership is also keenly aware of the need for a low cost, low barrier to entry programs for test teams. In support of this need, the IOP WG has evolved its processes and testing venues. A simple yet robust Non-Disclosure Agreement provides an environment where vendors feel confident in bringing their implementations while the powerful web based ‘Test on Demand’ and ‘Test Bank’ facilities enable test teams to share their availability to test without the burden of heavy travel costs. An automated problem-reporting tool allows users to highlight any faults found in this testing, as well as to promote their successes via a product listing webpage.

The IOP WG, along with the Release Planning and Management committee (REL), have identified a need in the market for richer and more broad combinational services, such as the GSMA Rich Communication Suite, and to provide the certification bodies with solid industry recognized conformance test specifications. The IOP and REL groups have promoted the adoption of a new type of enabler within OMA, a Test Centric Enabler now known as a ‘Deployment Suite Enabler’. This innovation has allowed OMA to directly reference external specifications, which compliment the use of OMA Enablers, in an OMA Deployment Suite Enabler and include selected features in OMA test specifications. This straddling of organizations between OMA, the GSMA and the GCF completes the ‘Service Creation to Deployment and Test Loop’ and promotes greater industry collaboration.

Active OMA IOP WG Members

OMA members active in the IOP WG include: AT&T, Ericsson, Gemalto, Interop Technologies, NEC, Nokia, Research in Motion, Rohde & Schwarz, Samsung, Spirent, Telecom Italia, Telefonica and Vodafone.

Sub-groups Within the Working Group

The IOP WG, currently chaired by Jeffrey Cooke of Ericsson, includes three sub-working groups: Messaging and

Content (IOP-MEC), chaired by Markus Hanhisalo of Nokia; Browsing-related Enablers (IOP-BRO), chaired by Henrique Costa of NEC; and TTTCN Test Tool Development (IOP-TTCN), chaired by Michael Siggelkow of Rohde & Schwarz. 

IOP WG Highlighted Achievements 2002-2012

The IOP WG has delivered many test specifications over the last 10 years and has hosted and participated in multiple industry test events. A few highlights of these activities include:

    • MMS Live Demo 3GSM World Cannes
    • 20 OMA Test Fests covering enablers such as MMS, IMPS, DM, Browsing, PoC, BCAST
    • Since starting to test OMA Enablers, the PTCRB has Certified (tested) thousands of devices with OMA
    • Enablers including:
    • MMS: 2486 devices
    • Browsing: 883 devices
    • SUPL 1.0: 801 devices
    • DM: 444 devices
    • FUMO: 84 devices
    • SCOMO: 11 devices
    • In 2011, the GCF Certified (tested) a total of 488 different devices on which the following OMA Enablers were tested:
    • MMS: 274 devices
    • Browsing: 180 devices
    • SUPL 1.0: 159 devices
    • DM: 49 devices
    • FUMO: 53 devices
    • SCOMO: 13 devices
    • GCF includes the following Enablers in its program:
    • SCWS (Interoperability testing only)
    • SUPL 2.0 (starting January 2013)
    • RCS-e (starting 1H2013)
    • POC and BCAST

Future Plans for 2013 and Beyond

The IOP WG is currently very active in evolving its RCS-e Deployment Suite and anticipates that this success will carry forward into the RCS5 release. The group is fully committed to cross-fora cooperation efforts and will continue to reach out wherever and whenever an opportunity to reduce duplication in the industry and serve its members is possible. Our TTCN test suites are expanding and are made available to OMA members. Our experienced technical support staff is available whenever testing is performed to ensure test teams are fully supported.

The IOP WG is looking forward to the evolution of HTML5 within OMA and with the Deployment Suite Enablers well entrenched and supported in OMA, we are prepared and can readily adapt to the next generation of OMA Enablers.