版本规划和管理委员会

版本规划和管理委员会


Han Zudwieg

OMA版本规划和管理委员会主席

概述

        版本规划和管理委员会(REL)从属于技术大会。 该委员会有别于各OMA工作组,因为它不参与技术标准的制定。
REL的主要任务是管理OMA工作计划。 OMA工作计划对OMA工作项目、相关交付件、重大事件和审批流程进行跟踪。
REL在技术工作支持方面发挥多重作用,如注册新工作项目、在TP审批前组织版本一致性审核以及通过公共网站对候选版本进行必要的公开审核。
        同时,REL下辖开放性移动命名机构(OMNA)。该机构负责分配和协调OMA版本使用的名称和数字。 OMNA注册了多个名称,如设备管理的被管理对象、移动条形码、位置业务的厂商和运营商身份以及统一资源名称(URN)。
REL还负责归档OMA流程、程序和组织结构。 除用于描述OMA组织结构和流程的基本要素的OMA组织结构和流程文件外,REL还维护有关版本处理、文件起草、当前审核工作、参考和主持工作等的文件。

为移动行业带来价值

        在过去的十年里,REL对组织结构的变更及其流程和文件记录进行监管。 一项重要的成就是于2008年推出了轻量级流程(也称为“fast track” 开发),帮助各工作项目缩短技术标准的发布时间。 另外一项重要贡献是提出“公开审核”概念,使引擎版本从待审批状态过渡到已审批状态。该概念是IOP测试的一个替代方案。

REL的活跃成员

        版本规划和管理委员会的活跃成员包括 阿尔卡特-朗讯、AT&T、德国电信、爱立信、华为、摩托罗拉、NEC、诺基亚、诺基亚西门子通信和意大利通信等。 2002至2010期间,REL一直由Peter Arnby(任职于爱立信)领导。Peter Arnby因其对委员会做出贡献而荣获OMA领导奖。 自2011年以来,REL由Han Zuidweg(华为)带领。

2013年及以后的计划

        在未来几年里,REL将竭尽所能使OMA的组织结构和流程适应充满挑战和多变的经济环境。在这个环境中,标准发布时间和组织的技术成果质量将成为关键。 REL的主要目标之一是简化OMA流程、改善流程记录和加强对工作组主席的硬件支持。

Release Planning and Management

Release Planning and Management Committee


Han Zuidweg
OMA REL Committee Chair

Overview

The Release Planning and Management Committee (REL) is a committee of the Technical Plenary. It is different from a Working Group in that it does not produce Technical Specifications.

The main task of the REL Committee is to manage the OMA Work Program. The OMA Work Program keeps track of the OMA Work Items, their deliverables, milestones, reviews and approval cycles.

The REL Committee has several roles in supporting technical work, such as registering new Work Items, organizing Consistency Reviews for Releases prior to TP approval, and starting and ending the mandatory Public Review for Candidate Releases through the public website.

The REL Committee also operates the Open Mobile Naming Authority (OMNA), which assigns and mediates names and numbers used by OMA Releases. OMNA registers items such as Managed Objects for Device Management, Mobile Codes, Vendor and Operator Identities for Location Services, and Uniform Resource Names (URNs).

Last but not least, the REL Committee is responsible for documenting OMA process, procedures and organization. Apart from the OMA Organization and Process document which describes the fundamentals of the OMA organization and process, the REL Committee maintains documentation on Release handling, document drafting, running reviews, referencing and chairing.

Bringing Value to the Mobile Industry

Over the last ten years, the REL Committee has overseen changes to the organization, its processes and its documentation. An important enhancement has been the introduction of Lightweight Process (also referred to as “fast track” development) in 2008, which allows Work Items to reduce the time to market for their technical specifications. Another has been the concept of Public Review to move Enabler Releases from Candidate to Approved status as an alternative to IOP testing.

Active REL Committee Members

OMA members that have been active in the REL Committee include: Alcatel-Lucent, AT&T, Deutsche Telecom, Ericsson, Huawei Technologies, Motorola, NEC, Nokia, Nokia Siemens Networks, Telecom Italia and others. For most of its existence, (2002-2010) the REL Committee was chaired by Peter Arnby of Ericsson, who earned an OMA Leadership Award for his contribution to the organization. As of 2011, the REL Committee is chaired by Han Zuidweg of Huawei Technologies.

Future Plans for 2013 and Beyond

In the coming years The REL Committee will endeavour to adapt the OMA Organization and Processes to a changing environment with economic challenges, where time to market and quality of the technical output of the organization will be critical. One of the main objectives will be to simplify OMA procedures, improve their documentation and strengthen tool support for WG chairs.