需求工作组

OMA需求工作组
(OMA REQ WG)


Francesco Vadalá

OMA需求工作组主席

概述

        OMA需求工作组的现任主席是来自意大利电信的Francesco Vadalà。OMA需求工作组是OMA的一个横向工作组,负责识别和制定OMA业务引擎需求,进而跨越不同的设备、网络运营商和服务提供商支持端到端互操作性。 这些需求是OMA制定技术标准的基础。
        同时,OMA需求工作组识别那些专注部署场景的用例和用户视角,目的在于加深对需求的理解。
通常需求都随附有端到端业务描述,用于体现具体引擎版本发布的商务合理性。 这种对特性和功能的详细描述说明了引擎的用途。此时,引擎被看作是一项业务(如移动条形码、移动广告、定制多媒体铃音、MMS和移动垃圾消息举报)和/或一个部件(如网络API和融合IP消息通讯)。
       由需求工作组负责开发那些对其他OMA工作组有着重要影响的需求是OMA的一项最佳实践。 不过,这些需求也可由其他OMA工作组(如负责位置业务引擎的位置工作组)针对特定活动而开发。 在这种情况下,需求开发必须有序可循,使需求工作组充分了解整个需求开发过程。 需求工作组要求其他OMA工作组定期上报需求开发进度。
        需求工作组负责管理所有OMA内部开发需求的正式审核。 正式审核旨在为OMA成员(特别是OMA需求工作组的代表)提供清晰流程以便收集、讨论和解决他们的问题和反馈,同时实现需求开发流程的透明性和可追溯性。

为移动行业带来价值

        OMA需求工作组在OMA内外已做出了杰出的贡献。
        OMA技术大会于2010年2月组织了一场名为“演进的移动全IP系统业务部署”的内部研讨会。会议上,OMA需求工作组详细说明了其为此所付出的努力(见[1]),包括通过电信/IT行业的趋势分析发现运营商利用全IP系统能力为终端用户提供更具吸引力的服务的各种可能。 OMA需求工作组的主要贡献包括为方便连通性/连接管理所进行的消息通讯工具和社交工具的演进、物联网、以及云和个人数据管理。
        2011年10月,OMA技术大会主席受邀到ITU-T SDP研讨会进行演讲。演讲内容包括业务引擎标准化的进度和最新成果,以及对未来的业务交付平台(SDP)标准化提出的要求。 为此,OMA需求工作组准备了一份展示材料(见[2]),从OMA的角度提出了对未来业务交付平台标准化的深刻见解,包括:
• 支持组合业务(对运营商业务交付平台和第三方服务提供商运营的业务进行组合);
• 支持针对业务组件接入的动态提供、协商和订阅;
• 支持针对对外业务组件保护的动态策略更新;
• 支持动态机制,以优化基于应用程序的按需资源分配;
• 支持灵活的支付模型。

[1] http://member.openmobilealliance.org/ftp/Public_documents/TP/2010/OMA-TP-2010-0020R01-INP_REQ_input_for_All_IP_Workshop.zip

[2] http://member.openmobilealliance.org/ftp/Public_documents/REQ/2011/OMA-REQ-2011-0176-INP_High_level_reqs_for_SDP.zip

OMA需求工作组的活跃成员

        OMA需求工作组的活跃成员包括意大利电信、德国电信、西班牙电信、中国联通、华为、中兴通讯、中国电信、中国移动、AT&T、ETRI和SK Telecom。

OMA需求工作组2002至2012年间的主要成就

OMA需求工作组在过去十年里制定了许多需求标准, 部分标准如下:
• OMA“永久在线”基础设施(AOI)通过在不同的应用客户端和服务器之间提供统一的连接机制以使应用程序保持在线状态,同时减少连接数量。 此外,AOI可基于连接优先级和空闲带宽使用率动态地优化带宽占用。
• 融合地址簿(CAB)是普通地址簿的演进版本,提供了用户设备本地没有的特性,如网络存储、发布和订阅。
• 融合IP消息通讯(CPM)提供统一的组件以创建人际互动多媒体通讯服务,其中包含多种特性,如平行对话、通过设置喜好实现个性化服务和在网络中存储所有消息和媒体类型。
• 融合个人网络业务(CPNS)提供多种功能,如业务会话端到端管理、业务发布和发现以及基于设备能力的业务特征定制。
• 移动广告(MobAd)制定与用户属性和上下文有关的机制以及关联内容相关的机制。这些机制将用于对发送到特定用户的广告实现个性化和情境化。
• 移动增强现实(MobAR)制定了一个框架,该框架通过AR内容的个性化和管理以及用户互动处理为AR内容、网络和客户端API激活移动增强现实业务。
• 开放的连接管理器API(OpenCMAPI)用于激活设备上的本地应用程序以便对连通性和连接进行管理,并提供连接状态或设备状态信息、通知/回调和补充业务API,如SMS、USSD、和GNSS。
• 移动垃圾消息举报(SpamRep)定义了一个协议/接口和消息格式,用来将用户举报的垃圾消息转发到一个网络收集点。
• 统一虚拟体验(UVE)用于激活在线使用功能。用户可在服务器端远程试用应用程序,无需将其下载到本地设备上。
• 社交网络Web(SNeW)对架构和相关实体和接口进行定义,实现客户端和服务器之间的互操作性和服务器间联盟,并支持各种特性,如内容和活动的发布和共享、社交网络用户的互动。

2013年及以后的计划

       2013年及以后,OMA需求工作组将继续制定需求标准,支持可互操作的端到端移动业务。
       统一云盘(UCD)的需求标准制定工作将敲定。 统一云盘为服务提供商提供一个统一的云存储系统,并为移动用户或应用程序提供新型的“存储即业务”API,从而优化现有的云存储业务。
        需求工作组对各种需求进行正式或非正式的审核、公开审核通过的需求修改点、公开新工作项目的提议并积极对其他OMA工作组的需求进行监控,从而继续为其他OMA工作组提供支持。需求工作组将灵活应对业务层演进的新挑战。

Requirements

OMA Requirements Working Group
(OMA REQ WG)

requirements-new
Kennie Kwong
OMA REQ WG Chair

Overview

The OMA REQ WG, currently chaired by Kennie Kwong of AT&T, is one of the horizontal working groups in OMA and is responsible for identifying and specifying requirements for OMA service enablers in order to support end-to-end interoperability across different devices, network operators, and service providers. Those requirements are the basis of the technical specifications development in OMA.

OMA REQ WG also identifies use cases focused on deployment scenarios and the users’ point of view, with the aim to facilitate understanding of the requirements.

Requirements are usually accompanied by an end-to-end service description to provide indications on what is the business rational for creating a specific enabler release. This high level description of the features and functions defines enablers’ objectives, when considered as a service (e.g. Mobile Code, Mobile Advertising, Customized Multimedia Ringing, MMS, Mobile Spam Reporting) and/or a building block (e.g. Network APIs, Converged IP Messaging).

It is an OMA best practice that the development of requirements, which have significant horizontal implications across multiple OMA WGs, is done in the REQ WG. Nevertheless, the requirements might be developed in another OMA WG (e.g. LOC WG for location enablers) for specific activities. When this is the case, a process is followed in order to make the requirements development as transparent as possible to REQ WG. REQ WG requests regular reporting of progress on requirements development from other OMA WGs.

REQ WG is responsible for the management of the Formal Review for all requirements developed in OMA. The purpose of such reviews is to provide OMA members (in particular OMA REQ WG delegates) with well-defined procedures to capture, discuss and resolve their comments, and to provide transparency and traceability.

Bringing Value to the Mobile Industry

The OMA REQ WG has made significant contributions internally in OMA and externally.
In February 2010, the OMA Technical Plenary organized an internal Workshop on “Service deployment in evolved mobile all-IP systems”; in this event, OMA REQ elaborated and presented an input (see [1]) that, starting from trends analysis in the telco/IT world, aimed to identify a list of considerations that would allow operators to exploit the capability of All IP Systems to provide more appealing services to end-users. Among the items highlighted in the contribution were the evolution of messaging tools and social networking tools to enable an easy connectivity/connection management, Internet of Things, Cloud and personal data management.

In October 2011, the OMA Technical Plenary Chair was invited to speak at the ITU-T SDP Workshop on recent progress and achievements in standardization for service enablers, and requirements for future SDP (Service Delivery Platform) standardization activity. For this event, OMA REQ prepared an input (see [2]) that identified some insights for future SDP standardization from the point of view of OMA including:

  • support of composite services (mashed up of services executed on Operators SDP and 3rd part service providers);
  • support of dynamic offering, negotiation and subscription for accessing service components;
  • support of dynamic update of policies for protecting the exposed service components;
  • support of dynamic mechanisms for optimizing the allocation of resources according to the requests of the applications;
  • support of flexible payment model.

[1] http://member.openmobilealliance.org/ftp/Public_documents/TP/2010/OMA-TP-2010-0020R01-INP_REQ_input_for_All_IP_Workshop.zip

[2] http://member.openmobilealliance.org/ftp/Public_documents/REQ/2011/OMA-REQ-2011-0176-INP_High_level_reqs_for_SDP.zip

Active OMA REQ WG Members

The list of OMA members active in the REQ WG includes Telecom Italia, Deutsche Telekom, Telefonica, China Unicom, Huawei, ZTE, China Telecommunications, China Mobile, AT&T, ETRI and SK Telecom.

REQ WG Highlighted Achievements 2002-2012

The REQ WG has delivered many requirements specifications over the last 10 years. Below is a non-exhaustive list of these specifications:

  • The Always Online Infrastructure (AOI) enables applications to be online while reducing the number of connections needed, by providing a unified connection mechanism between different application clients and servers. Furthermore, the AOI could dynamically optimize the use of bandwidth based on connection priority and vacant bandwidth utilization.
  • The Converged Address Book (CAB) is an evolution of the address book and includes features that are not local to user devices, such as network storage and publication and subscription support.
  • The Converged IP Messaging (CPM) provides common building blocks to allow the creation of interpersonal interactive multimedia communication services, including features such as parallel conversations, personalization of services by setting preferences, store any type of message and Media in the network.
  • The Converged Personal Network Service (CPNS) provides functionality such as end-to-end management of service sessions, publication and discovery of services, and customization of service characteristics based upon device capabilities.
  • The Mobile Advertising (MobAd) specifies mechanisms related to the user profile and context as well as mechanisms related to the associated content that will be used to personalize and contextualize advertisements sent to a given user.
  • The Mobile Augmented Reality (MobAR) defines an overall framework that enables Mobile Augmented Reality services through personalization and management of AR Content and user interactivity handling to AR Content, network and client APIs.
  • The Open Connection Manager API (OpenCMAPI) enables local applications on the device to manage connectivity and connections, but also to provide information status on the connection or the device, notifications/call-backs and complementary services APIs such as SMS, USSD, and GNSS.
  • The Mobile Spam Reporting (SpamRep) defines a protocol/interface and message format for forwarding user-identified spam messages to a network collection point.
  • The Unified Virtual Experience (UVE) enables online-usage functionality, where users can try-out applications remotely on the server-side without first downloading them on his/her device.
  • The Social Network Web (SNeW) defines the architecture and the related entities and interfaces to allow interoperability between clients and servers and server-to-server federation, supporting features such as publication and sharing of content and activities and reactions between users across Social Networks.

Future Plans for 2013 and Beyond

Looking forward to 2013 and beyond, OMA REQ WG will continue creating new requirements specifications to support interoperable End-to-End mobile services.

In particular, the activity on Unified Cloud Disk (UCD) requirements will be finalized. The UCD aims to optimize the current cloud storage service by providing a unified cloud storage system for service providers and new Storage-as-a-service APIs for mobile users or applications.

In addition, the REQ WG will continue supporting other OMA WGs with formal and informal review of requirements, socialization of modifications to requirements previously approved, socialization of proposals for new Work Items, proactive monitoring of requirements specified in other OMA WGs, and will continue to be flexible in adapting to the new challenges coming from the evolution of the service layer world.