救护车一路通行

by OMA | Thursday, March 28, 2013

缘何创新Eshwar PittampalliOMA营销主管,2013年3月13日

我们都曾碰到过这种状况:尖叫的救护车在车流中困难穿行,特别是在十字路口,交通尤为拥堵。   救护车中的病人正在和死神搏斗;救护车司机正在试图通过阻塞的交通;急诊医务人员正在努力维持病人的生命。

当每个人都在试图改善这种状况时,交通系统却不会对此作出反应,它只是真实地存在那里。   在一些国家,这种情况尤为严重。我就曾看见两车道的道路上,交通灯前各车道停着六到七辆汽车。   想象一下任何救护车或救急车辆通过这样一个十字路口是多么困难。

通过配置机对机传感器、应答器和智能交通系统(ITS),底层交通系统可以更加及时有效地对各种状况作出响应。

以下是工作原理:   救护车一接到病人,车载系统就将病人的情况发送到ITS系统。   ITS系统然后与医院或位于其它地方的急诊病人监控和咨询系统通信,获取紧急治疗建议。

治疗建议之后,一套合适的护理指示被传递到车上的紧急医护人员,指导他们的护理工作。   ITS系统然后识别离医院较近的合适路线并将导航指令推送到救护车导航系统。   同时,ITS系统将信号发送到送医路线上的交通灯控制器,告知救护车预计到达相应交通十字路口的大概时间。

一旦交通十字路口收到该信息,就会启动闪烁的交通灯并且及时开启告警汽笛告诉并指导驾驶员们行驶到路边并为即将到来的救护车让道。   ITS提前计算好到达时间并传递到交通控制系统,这段时间足够驾驶员们将车开到路边,从而使救护车可在最快的时间内通过。

通过充分的宣传教育和严格的交通违规处罚措施,强制驾驶员响应并靠边行驶。   交通灯处的内置摄像机系统可以抓拍违规者的车牌号,违规者将受重罚,而那些遵守规则的驾驶员会因为挽救了宝贵的生命而感到欣慰。

在我看来,ITS系统的大部分部件已准备就绪。   但是,还需要使用正确的业务模式来对价值链上的各个环节进行端到端的集成。   此类服务对于医疗机构、保险公司和服务提供商都非常具有吸引力,当然还包括病人和他们的亲人。   目前已部署的汽车联网技术便是向实现这些服务迈出的一大步。

通过智能交通系统和机对机部署,救护车中的病人有望更快被送达医院,从而提高了生存几率。   驾驶员也将因履行市民义务而可能挽救了生命而欣慰。

Ambulances See Green All the Way

by OMA | Thursday, March 28, 2013

Innovation Generation, Eshwar Pittampalli, Marketing Director, Open Mobile Alliance, March 13, 2013

We’ve all been in a situation where there is a screaming ambulance behind us, struggling to get through traffic, especially at intersections. A patient in the ambulance is fighting for life; the driver of the ambulance is trying to get through the gridlock; and the emergency medical technicians are trying to keep the patient alive.

While everybody is trying to help the situation, the transport system, unfortunately, is ignorant of all underlying emergencies to accommodate a real-life situation. This situation is much more intense in some countries, where I have seen two-lane roads accommodating a row of six to seven cars right at the front of the traffic light. Imagine the difficulty of any ambulance or emergency vehicle going through this intersection.

With M2M-equipped sensors, transponders, and Intelligent Transport System (ITS), it’s now possible to make the underlying transport system more accommodating, responsive, and efficient in real-time to help the situation.

Here’s how it works: As soon as an ambulance picks up a patient, an on-board system communicates the state of the patient to the ITS system. The ITS then communicates with the emergency patient monitoring and advisory system at the hospital, or wherever it’s physically located, and gets the emergency treatment advice.

Following the medical advice, a set of appropriate care instructions is passed on to the emergency medical technicians onboard, informing them about the actions they need to perform. The ITS then identifies the appropriate route close to the hospital and pushes the navigation directions to the ambulance navigation system. At the same time, the ITS sends signals to the traffic light controller en route to the hospital, informing them of the approximate time when the ambulance can be expected to arrive at the respective traffic intersections.

Once a traffic intersection receives the information, it starts flashing traffic lights and turns on its alarming siren just in time to inform and instruct the drivers to move aside and clear the way for the incoming ambulance. The advanced heads-up time that’s computed and passed on to the traffic control systems is adequate for the motorists to pull their cars aside, allowing the ambulance to pass through in the fastest time.

With enough education and stricter traffic violation penalties, motorists would be forced to respond and move their vehicles aside. Built-in camera systems at the traffic light can capture license plate numbers of all violators who would be greeted with heavy penalty violation tickets, while the motorists that abide by the rules will get the satisfaction of saving a precious life.

In my view, most of the building blocks for the implementation of such a system are in place. However, an end-to-end integration effort needs to happen with the right business model for the value chain players. A service like this is very attractive to healthcare institutions, insurance carriers, service providers, and of course, to patients and their loved ones. The connected-car technology presently available in automobiles is a giant step towards realization of such services.

With an Intelligent Transportation System and M2M deployments, a patient in an ambulance can expect to arrive at the hospital much faster, reducing the risk of losing his or her life battle. Motorists get the satisfaction of performing a civic duty and potentially saving a human life.