人工智能增强M2M能力

by OMA | Wednesday, January 2, 2013

缘何创新 2012年12月26日 人工智能催生M2M……假如你正赶着向老板汇报季度销售业绩,并急需一份报告复件。   当你来到打印机前,却发现打印机指示灯闪烁着提示碳粉不足,最后你不得不两手空空地参加会议。   想象一下,如果打印机能够在两天前提醒你补充碳粉,你就可以避免这场悲剧式的尴尬。   通过将M2M系统和人工智能(AI)结合,这些问题便可迎刃而解。

AI支持决策功能,可以预测问题并采取合适的规避措施。   M2M系统的主要功能是从终端设备收集数据、分析数据并按照程序的指示执行合适的动作。   数据分析的作用之一是避免系统工作异常或崩溃。   系统内置的预编程AI根据问题的性质决定采取何种动作以避免不良结果。   如果一个功能组件在无法正常工作前就可以被检测到,那么流程或产品的效率就能得到提升。   但是,这种流程和产品效率与受设备维护服务水平协议约束的服务技术人员、生产厂或组织的工作效率直接相关。   在这些情况下,当一个流程或产品与人直接或间接相关时,该流程或产品将决定人的生活质量。

服务功能是当前和未来的M2M应用的共同特征。许多通讯业务提供商(CSP)正在部署或考虑部署这些M2M应用。   鉴于地球上有限的人口数量,在任何特定时间内流通的移动设备的数量有一个上限。   然而,一系列有利的条件加速了M2M的部署,比如无处不在的无线覆盖、企业为了增强客户黏度和生产力而推出新应用的决心、应用开发员的创新精神以及传感器和模块的小型化。   正由于这些有利条件,当前还无法预见终端设备连接数量增长的上限。   这些部署对性能的要求将为服务行业带来很大压力。

这里提到的服务和终端设备提供的服务有所不同。   例如,镭射打印机(终端设备)提供的服务是将用户输入的信息打印到纸件上。   另一方面,人或机器提供的服务功能是确保镭射打印机的打印功能持续良好,以满足用户需求。

不中断服务要求对相关数据进行监控和收集。这些数据包括剩余碳粉数量、已用掉的纸张数、纸叠数量、卡纸、异常部件和计算机和打印机之间的通讯链路状态。   对这些数据的收集和分析以及由此作出决策是系统内置的AI功能,可帮助服务提供商满足终端用户对产品可用性的需求。   AI功能为监控站和当值服务技术人员在流程发生异常前提供必要的提醒。   M2M系统和AI功能的完美结合实现不间断服务。   这种集成将大大提升技术人员的工作效率,为服务提供商节省大量成本,同时提升用户体验。

Artificial Intelligence Gives M2M a Brain

by OMA | Wednesday, January 2, 2013

Innovation Generation 12/26/2012 Artificial Intelligence Gives M2M a Brain …You’re in a hurry to deliver your quarterly sales presentation to your boss, and you send copies to the printer. When you arrive at the printer, that annoying flashing light is indicating low toner, and you’re forced to go to the meeting empty-handed. Now imagine a world where the printer had alerted you to replace the toner two days earlier, so you could have averted this disaster. It may not be life or death, but it’s one of the many things that can be solved by the union of a machine-to-machine (M2M) system with an artificial intelligence (AI) entity.

The AI provides the decision making function that foresees the problem and takes the appropriate action to avert it.  The primary function of a Machine to Machine (M2M) system is to collect data from end devices, analyze that data and then take appropriate action as programmed. One outcome of this data analysis is to prevent the system from either malfunctioning or breaking down entirely. Pre-programmed artificial Intelligence (AI) embedded in the system determines what actions should be taken depending on the nature of the problem to prevent an undesired end result. Detection of an object before it fails to function can improve the efficiency of a process or product. But these processes and product efficiencies are directly related to the efficiency of a service technician, manufacturing plant or organization that is leased to maintain certain service level agreements on the installed equipment. In those cases, when a process or product is connected to humans directly or indirectly, it becomes a critical part in deciding the level of quality of life.

The services function is the common denominator of all present and future M2M applications that many Communication Service Providers (CSPs) are in the midst of either deploying or considering deploying. Given the finite number of humans on the planet, there is an upper limit on the number mobile devices that can be in circulation at any given time. However, in the case of M2M, the deployment scenarios are now emerging rapidly because of favorable conditions such as everywhere wireless coverage, enterprise willingness to offer new applications that improve customer stickiness and productivity, innovative application developers, and miniaturization of sensors and modules. Because of these favorable conditions, there is no foreseeable end in sight to the growing number of end device connections. Such deployments will put pressure on the services sector to maintain them at the agreed upon performance level.

The services activity that is being referred to here is not the same as the service provided by an end device. For example, the service provided by a laser printer (an end device) is the printing of paper that is fed to it by a user. On the other hand an example of a service function that is performed by a human or a machine is keeping the laser printer printing well and uninterrupted, so that it meets the expectations of the user.

Uninterrupted services require the monitoring and gathering of data such as toner level, number of pages printed, paper stack level, paper jam, parts malfunctions, and communication link status between the computer and printer. The collection and analysis of such data and the resulting decision is the function of Artificial Intelligence (AI) embedded in the system. Such an action helps a service provider to maintain an assured level of product availability for the end user. This AI function provides needed alerts to monitoring stations and on the job service technicians as a heads-up before a process failure takes place.  An M2M system with a combination of an AI function makes a perfect union for ensuring an uninterrupted service. This integration will result in an exponential improvement of productivity of technicians resulting in tremendous cost savings for the service provider while creating a better user experience.