全球M2M互操作呼声渐长

by OMA | Thursday, August 29, 2013

全球M2M互操作呼声渐长

EE Times 作者:Carolyn Mathas; 2013年8月29日

在拉斯维加斯召开的M2M演进大会期间组织了一场oneM2M小组讨论会,讨论了M2M连通性标准化的重要性。 此次讨论会由Crossfire Media的Carl Ford主持召开,与会人员有Adam Gould(Sensinode的CEO)、Bill Conley(B&B Electronics的蜂窝与专有RF终端产品经理)、Richard Brennan(oneM2M的MARCOM 主席)以及Eshwar Pittampalli(OMA的市场开发主管)。
讨论的中心议题为打造经济且应用范围广的业务层,同时满足通讯和垂直行业的需求。 为满足可靠性、安全性、面向未来的服务包以及互操作性级别要求,M2M业务层必须能轻松嵌入硬件和软件且可连接各类设备和M2M应用服务器。
标准化自然是重中之重。只有标准化的业务层才可支持设备的全球互操作。 另外,运营商、硬件生产商、以及开发商和集成商也有着至关重要的作用。
此次讨论会还集中讨论了如何通过标准化解决如下问题:M2M数据流与现有跨市场运营商接口的组合、信息共享方面的改进以及认证简单化。
B&B Electronics的Bill Conley发言表示,围绕M2M技术有如下不同的呼声: 例如,对终端用户来说,他们希望设备简单易用,即:
• M2M设备与运营商不相关;
• 即插即用;
o 无需查阅手册、更改设置或设置IP地址/防火墙;
o 准备工作只需三步:购买设备、选择运营商和打开设备;
o 设备+预付费数据+植入的应用。
对开发者来说,他们希望采用更简化的框架,如:
• 横跨整个行业的运营商协同中心。通过此中心,消费者可验证其设备和系统;
• 免费的运营商测试,包括首次认证、软件和表现;
• 开发者和运营商之间合作更紧密。
而OEM则希望可以重塑已认证的产品品牌,包括:
• 创建行业合作数据库和提供认证产品列表的Web门户;
• 通过合作Web门户提交第三方的新部件号和部件名。
如何实现这些愿望?这些愿望将何去何从?

Next Steps for oneM2M

图1 oneM2M的后续动作 B&B的M2M演讲胶片

为兑现承诺,B&B宣布其M2M连接设备,包括以太网交换机、继电器、路由器、光纤媒体转换器、串口隔离器以及无线通信设备,已经通过NEMA TS2认证,可以安全可靠地应用在智能交通系统(ITS)网络中。 该标准适用于交通安全保障设备如交通灯、紧急路况标识和十字路口标识。 点击此处获取完整应用列表。

Multiple traffic control cabinets networked via ethernet extenders

Global M2M Interoperability Is Getting Closer

by OMA | Thursday, August 29, 2013

Global M2M Interoperability Is Getting Closer

EE Times, Carolyn Mathas, August 29, 2013

A panel discussion entitled oneM2M at the M2M Evolution Conference in Las Vegas addressed the importance of a standardized approach to M2M connectivity. Chaired by Crossfire Media’s Carl Ford, the panel included Adam Gould, CEO at Sensinode; Bill Conley, Cellular and Proprietary RF Device Product Manager at B&B Electronics; Richard Brennan, MARCOM Chair at oneM2M; and Eshwar Pittampalli, Market Development Director at the Open Mobile Alliance (OMA).

At the heart of the oneM2M panel discussion was the need for a cost-effective and widely available service layer that can address requirements across both communications and vertical industries. Achieving reliability, security, future-proofed service offerings, and interoperability levels, an M2M service layer must be able to be readily embedded in hardware and software, and able to connect a broad range of devices and M2M app servers.

Naturally, standardization will play a key role so that specifications are able to promote interoperability globally. Carriers, hardware vendors, as well as developers and integrators will play additional critical roles.

The panel also focused on how standardization addresses such issues as how a range of M2M data streams combine with the legacy of carrier interfaces across multiple markets, improvement in the sharing of information, and reducing certification complexity.

According to Bill Conley of B&B Electronics, there are several demands surrounding M2M from the diverse players. For example, end users want easy deployment that involves:

  • M2M devices that are carrier agnostic
  • Simple “plug and play” provisioning
    • No reading manuals, changing settings, or setting IP addresses/firewalls
    • Simply purchase a device, select a carrier, turn it on, and done
    • Device + prepaid data + embedded application

A developer’s list for a simplified framework includes:

  • An industry-supported carrier collaboration center for customers to prove device and system concepts
  • No charge for any carrier testing: initial certification, software, performance
  • More collaboration between developers and carriers

In contrast, the OEM wish list for easy rebranding of already-certified products includes:

  • Create an industry collaboration database and web portal containing lists of company-certified products
  • Submit new part number and name of 3rd party via collaboration web portal

So, how do these wish lists become a reality and where will they go from here?

Next Steps for oneM2M

Figure 1. Next Steps for oneM2M
(Source: B&B M2M Slide Presentation)

Putting its proverbial money where its mouth is, B&B announced that its M2M connectivity equipment, including Ethernet switches, extenders, routers, fiber media converters, serial isolators, and wireless communications equipment passed NEMA TS2, ensuring that the equipment is safe and reliable for use in Intelligent Transportation System (ITS) networks. This standard is used for such safety-critical equipment as traffic lights, emergency road condition signs, and street crossing signs. Here’s a complete list of apps.

Multiple traffic control cabinets networked via ethernet extenders