ONEM2M与OMA在拉斯维加斯举行的M2M变革盛会中强强联手

by OMA | Wednesday, August 14, 2013

ONEM2M与OMA在拉斯维加斯举行的M2M变革盛会中强强联手

标准组织提出M2M互通性构想

2013年8月14日星期三,加利福尼亚州圣地亚哥市——公开移动联盟与oneM2M今日宣布,他们相互合作于8月27-29日在内华达州拉斯维加斯曼德勒海湾酒店举行的M2M变革会议期间举行座谈会。此次座谈会名为“oneM2M”,于8月28日上午9点(星期三)举行,与会者探讨了建立标准化机对机连通方法的必要性,以提高纵向行业与网络的互通性。

“oneM2M致力于通过开发一个成本低、用途广的服务层来联合全球M2M业界成员,该服务层既能满足通信行业的需求,也能满足使用M2M解决方案的纵向行业成员的需求,”oneM2M的MARCOM主席理查德·布纳恩说。M2M Evolution为我们提供了理想舞台,可与M2M其他成员合作,包括有意合作的其它行业的协会与论坛及其成员们,通过减少资源分散,联手开发可提高互通性、安全性与可靠性以及提供不会过时的服务的全球解决方案。

此次座谈会的核心议题是打造一个通用的M2M服务层。该服务层可轻松植入各种硬件和软件,并可将大量设备接入全球M2M应用服务器。此外,还探讨了M2M生态系统内的不同角色,包括需要管理连通性的承载商,需要生产硬件并使其连接网络就绪并获得认证的硬件供应商,需要确保不同平台之间的应用可运行的开发商和整合商,以及必须制定可提升生态系统互通性规范的标准研发组织。

会议由来自Crossfire Media的卡尔·福特主持,参会者有M2M的Marcomm小组委员会主席理查德·布纳恩,OMA市场研发主任艾什沃·皮特帕里博士,Sensinode执行总裁亚当·古尔德,以及B&B Electronics移动电话与专利射频设备产品经理比尔·康利。与会者探讨了标准化如何结合承载界面的传统模式处理诸如M2M的数据流量幅度等问题,探讨了垂直市场互通的必要性,探讨了开发更好地共享信息的系统的必要性,还探讨了简化认证手续的必要性。

“作为为移动行业开发服务层标准的领导者,OMA对M2M领域的市场需求做出了反应,认识到不同网络管理设备的通用标准不仅仅是一个不错的选择,还是强制性手段,”OMA董事会主席盖里·K·琼斯说。“M2M变革为我们提供了展示支持M2M目标的机会,也展示了我们为oneM2M规范所做的贡献,即OMA应用服务使能器,例如OMA设备管理和OMA轻量级M2M”。

M2M变革独一无二,专注于不同行业间的知识传播,因此各行各业都能从M2M中获益。M2M变革继续发展和演变,使用传感器获得更优的商务智能决议的能力,不仅来自于我们对企业对企业应用程序的讨论,还来自于使用M2M连接客户。

“很高兴,oneM2M参与了此次盛会。oneM2M的优势在于能延伸至其它行业实体,例如OMA,为所有行业提供解决方案。同oneM2M一样,M2M变革并未停止帮助承载商进行业务部署,而且还能帮助企业盈利,”CrossfireMedia的执行总裁卡尔·福特说。

关于ONEM2M

oneM2M是M2M创建最优化服务层的全球合作伙伴,以确保M2M的功能与互通性。oneM2M于2012年由日本无线工业及商贸联合会(ARIB)、日本电信技术委员会(TTC)、世界无线通讯解决方案联盟(ATIS)、美国无线通讯联盟(TIA)、中国通信标准化协会(CCSA)、欧洲电信标准协会(ETSI)和韩国电信技术协会(TTA)等七家世界领先的信息与通信技术标准研发组织联合组建,热忱欢迎其它合作伙伴,包括: 康体佳健康联盟、家用闸道器组织(HGI)和开发移动联盟(OMA)。热烈欢迎其它感兴趣的组织和不同层次的市场分区加入oneM2M,也期待与其它组织合作。想要了解其它信息,请登录www.onem2m.org

关于OMA

OMA是无线行业开发移动服务引擎规范的焦点,支持创建互通性端对端移动服务。OMA推动独立于底层无线网络和平台且支持跨设备、跨业务提供商、跨运营商、跨网络和跨地域的业务引擎架构和开放引擎接口的发展。想要了解更多信息,请登录www.openmobilealliance.org

联系人
伊丽莎白·罗斯
erose@omaorg.org

oneM2M and OMA Team Up at M2M Evolution Event in Las Vegas

by OMA | Wednesday, August 14, 2013

oneM2M and OMA Team Up at M2M Evolution Event in Las Vegas

Standards Bodies Present Vision for M2M Interoperability

San Diego, CA – Wednesday 14 August 2013 – The Open Mobile Alliance and oneM2M announced today that they are partnering to present a panel session at the upcoming M2M Evolution conference, taking place August 27-29 at the Mandalay Bay Hotel in Las Vegas, NV. The session entitled “oneM2M” will take place on Wednesday, August 28 at 9 a.m. and will address the need for a standardized approach to machine-to-machine connectivity promoting interoperability across vertical industries and networks.

“oneM2M is working to unify the global M2M community by developing a cost-effective, widely-available service layer that meets the needs of both the communications industry and our vertical industry members implementing M2M solutions,” said Richard Brennan, MARCOM Chair at oneM2M. “M2M Evolution offers us an excellent venue to reach out to others in the M2M space, including other industry associations and forums, and their members, who are interested in cooperating to build global solutions that extend interoperability, enhance security and reliability, and future-proof service offerings by reducing industry fragmentation.”

The need for a common M2M service layer that can be readily embedded within various hardware and software, and relied upon to connect the myriad of devices in the field with M2M application servers worldwide is the session’s core topic. Various roles within the M2M ecosystem will be covered including the carriers who need to manage connectivity, hardware vendors who need to build hardware and get it network-ready and certified, developers and integrators who need to make sure applications work across platforms, and standards development organizations who must produce specifications that promote interoperability across the ecosystem.

Chaired by Carl Ford of Crossfire Media, the panel will include Richard Brennan; Eshwar Pittampalli, Market Development Director at OMA; Adam Gould, CEO at Sensinode and Bill Conley, Cellular and Proprietary RF Device Product Manager at B&B Electronics. Panelists will discuss how standardization can address issues such as the range of data streams in M2M combined with the legacy of carrier interfaces, the need for interoperability across vertical markets, the need for systems that share information better, and the need to reduce certification complexity.

“As the leader in developing service layer standards for the mobile industry, OMA has responded to market demand in the M2M area, understanding that a common set of standards for managing devices on a variety of networks is not just a nice option, but a mandatory approach,” said Gary K. Jones, Board Chairman at OMA. “The M2M Evolution event is a great opportunity for OMA to show our support of oneM2M’s goals, and it gives OMA the chance to demonstrate how we are contributing applicable OMA service enablers such as OMA Device Management and OMA Lightweight M2M to oneM2M specifications.”

M2M Evolution is a unique event focused on transferring knowledge between industries so all businesses can benefit from M2M. M2M Evolution continues to grow and evolve as the abilities to use sensors to make better business-intelligent decisions comes across both in our discussion of business-to-business applications and the use of M2M to connect with the consumer.

“We are excited that oneM2M is participating in the event. The beauty of oneM2M is its outreach to other industry bodies, such as OMA, to deliver solutions for all industries. Like oneM2M, M2M Evolution does not stop with helping carriers to deploy, but also helps enterprises to yield results,” said Carl Ford, CEO of CrossfireMedia.

About oneM2M

oneM2M is a global partnership to create service layer optimizations to ensure the functionality and interoperability of M2M. Founded in 2012 by seven of the world’s leading information and communications technology (ICT) Standards Development Organizations, the Association of Radio Industries and Businesses (ARIB) and the Telecommunication Technology Committee (TTC) of Japan; the Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions (ATIS) and the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA) of the USA; the China Communications Standards Association (CCSA); the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI); and the Telecommunications Technology Association (TTA) of Korea, oneM2M has also welcomed other Partner organizations, including: the Continua Health Alliance, the Home Gateway Initiative (HGI), and the Open Mobile Alliance (OMA). oneM2M is open to participation from other interested organizations and vertical market segments, as well as cooperative efforts with other organizations. For additional information please visit www.onem2m.org.

About OMA

OMA is the wireless industry’s focal point for the development of mobile service enabler specifications, which support the creation of interoperable end-to-end mobile services. OMA drives service enabler architectures and open enabler interfaces that are independent of the underlying wireless networks and platforms and that work across devices, service providers, operators, networks, and geographies. More information at www.openmobilealliance.org.

Contact:
Elizabeth Rose
erose@omaorg.org