设置帮助人们跨越边界讲话的重要标准:开放移动联盟

by OMA | Wednesday, March 6, 2013

西班牙巴塞罗那,2013年2月26日(新华社)English.news.cn—在全球移动通信大会期间(MWC),OMA总经理在新华社的访谈中表示标准组织对于跨设备和区域的整个网络运转至关重要。

Seth Newberry表示:“OMA是标准制定组织……业界不得不就各种协议和网络运转的方式达成一致。这样来自沃达丰网络上的诺基亚手机的呼叫或文本消息才可以传送到中国移动网络的三星手机上。”

OMA成立于2002年,由世界上最重要的移动运营商和网络供应商组成。OMA旨在帮助制定标准以支持跨设备、地域、运营商和网络的移动业务互操作。

Seth Newberry解释说:该组织就像一个“技术交换所”,“为应用程序在世界范围内运行搭建通道”。

巴塞罗那吸引了来自140个国家的1400多个参展商,由此可见移动产业在全球的扩张程度。中国和印度等国家在移动产业经济发展中扮演着越来越重要的角色。对标准维护的需求愈发迫切。

Newberry表示:“对于网络发展迅速的国家,他们之间必须定义和约定基础技术部署轨迹,这一点非常重要。”他还表示诸如中兴、中国移动和华为等公司“非常关注当前的技术工作”也“非常积极地参与标准工作”。

他表示“如果整个行业就技术底层部分达成共识将有助于更加快速地将应用投放到新兴市场”。

通过MWC,OMA将安排华为等公司进行演示。比如,华为将展示其开发的“智慧生活”软件,支持用户使用摄像头而非关键词在3D模式访问信息。

OMA总经理表示:“通过此次展示活动,我们认识到,不仅我们的成员可以展示使用OMA协议所取得的成果,而且其他参展人员也可以很快了解这些成果并使用OMA技术来部署应用。”

今年在西班牙巴塞罗那举行的“全球移动通信大会”将从周一持续到周四。大会上展示了应用和技术的关健开发成果。

Setting standards important for helping people speak across frontiers: Open Mobile Alliance

by OMA | Wednesday, March 6, 2013

BARCELONA, Spain, Feb. 26, 2013 (Xinhua) English.news.cn — Standards organizations are essential for making the whole network work across all kinds of equipment and regions, general manager of the Open Mobile Alliance (OMA) told Xinhua during the Mobile World Congress (MWC).

“The Open Mobile Alliance is a standards development organization… The industry has to agree on all the protocols and the way the network will work in order for the information from a call or text message to get from your Nokia phone on your ‘Vodafone’ network to your Samsung phone on your China Mobile network,” said Seth Newberry.

The OMA, founded in 2002 by the world’s most important mobile operators and network suppliers, is a focal point for helping develop specifications to help support interoperable mobile services across different devices, frontiers, operators and networks.

The organization is like a “technology clearing house,” which provides “the railroad tracks for the applications to run on worldwide,” he explained.

With the mobile industry expanding into a worldwide phenomenon; something made clear by the fact that 140 different countries are represented in Barcelona by over 1,400 exhibitors, and countries such as China and India becoming major players in the mobile economy, the need to maintain standards has become increasingly important.

“For the countries where the network is growing so quickly, it is important that the underlying technical tracks on which they run on are well defined and agreed between all of the countries,” said Newberry, who added companies such as ZTE, China Mobile and Huawei were “central to the technological work that was being carried out,” and “very active with standards.”

“It really helps emerging markets to apply applications more quickly where the technical underlying parts are agreed throughout the industry,” he said.

The OMA will use the MWC to made several demonstrations from companies such as Huawei, which will show its “Smart Life” software, developed to allow users to access information in a 3D mode, using cameras rather than keywords to search for their requirements.

“What we get out of the show is that our members can show what they have done on top of OMA protocols and other people can become familiar with it quickly and deploy their applications using OMA technologies,” explained the OMA general manager.

This year’s Mobile World Congress started on Monday in the Spanish city of Barcelona and will last till Thursday, showcasing key developments in applications and technology.